Recently
I took Kira and Renee grocery shopping today. It's only the third time I've ever taken both at the same time. Strangely, I enjoy doing it. I never rush, and when we make it home in one piece and the cold groceries get put in the fridge, I feel like I've crossed a finish line! I feel like a superhero =) And, today, I took them out in the rain!..By the late afternoon it was only sprinkling. When we were walking back to the car, the rain was just starting to pick up and Kira was getting wet. She was giggling the whole way back to the car. I asked her, what's so funny? And she said, I'm getting wet *giggle giggle* I'm glad she was amused =)
Renee spit up while we were doing the grocery shopping. Poor thing. I usually have a bib on her, but this time I didn't. Her shirt was all wet and gooey and smelly. Napkins were on my list of things to buy and they were already in my cart by the time she spit up. So, I just opened up the package and stuffed a couple into her shirt. I think the sling makes her nauseated. She always has a nauseous expression whenever she's in the sling. It could be the jostling, or the way her back is arched. It's too bad because I have such fond memories of carrying Kira in the sling. Or, it could be that Renee is not responding well to certain things I'm eating. I had a glass of milk yesterday morning. I've been staying away from dairy as much as possible, but yesterday I really wanted a glass of milk. And, I've also been eating a lot of chocolate. It's like a habit.
When we got home, I called my sister and she asked what new things Renee can do. At first I couldn't think of anything, not because she doesn't do anything, but because I couldn't decide of the things she is currently doing are "new". She hugs me. That's new. She pinches - hard. And Trevor says she responds to her name. But I don't think she's consistent enough to say that. We're not making it easy for her because we call her so many different things: Mei Mei, Renee, Fatty.
Renee is still waking up in the night - 2 or 3 times. I know every baby is different, but Kira was definitely sleeping through the night by this point. I've been trying to get Renee to fall back to sleep without feeding her. I think the feedings could be the start of a habit. I plan on asking the doctor at Renee's 6-month appointment if there is anything I can do to push her towards sleeping a longer stretch.
For the first time today, Kira did not cry when she was dropped off or picked up from school. Yay! Finally getting used to the concept of school. It took three full weeks!
I'm starting to think more about our trip to California in November. Lots of logistics to plan. I could probably write a whole entry about that on its own.
Comments